Hero Hero

Howell Watson Distinguished Service Award



Howell Watson Distinguished Service Award

The Howell Watson Distinguished Service Award is the highest form of industry recognition given by SIOR and honors a highly select group of recipients.

First established in 1985, the award, recognizes an individual's outstanding vision, leadership and service to SIOR and the broader commercial real estate (CRE) industry. It further recognizes an SIOR member renowned for extraordinary professionalism and integrity.

This award was originally named after a distinguished leader of SIOR, Howell H. Watson. Unlike other SIOR awards, it is not presented annually. It is bestowed only when one member's accomplishments and contributions clearly stand out above all others. To preserve the prestigious nature of the award, it is ordinarily not presented more than once every few years.

The Past Presidents Advisory Council oversees administration of this award.

Criteria for Award

Factors that may be considered in granting this award include, but are not limited to, leadership, integrity, service record, clear dedication to the principles of SIOR, and active participation at SIOR events at all levels.

Other contributions, such as industry and community involvement, may be considered. Any member, including Retired, will be eligible, but Past Presidents will be eligible only after they have been out of office for five years or more, and a major consideration will be their level of activity in, and contributions to, SIOR during the years following their presidency.

Nomination Process

Nominations for recipients will be sought with a nomination form sent to the general membership, however, the award will only be given when it is deemed meritorious. The award will be presented at an SIOR Conference. Nominations will be vetted by the CEO and senior level staff. Final selection of a recipient rests solely with the Past Presidents Advisory Council.

Nominees are not notified upon submission of an application.

The name of the recipient will be announced in advance via SIOR communications.

Nominations are closed for this year, but remember to submit yours when they open again next Summer.

Howell Watson Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2023        Lynn Reich, SIOR  

2016        J. Leonard Caldeira, SIOR (posthumously) *

2011        David T. Houston, Jr., SIOR (posthumously) *

2009        Thomas E. McCormick III, SIOR

2007        Herbert L. Krumsick, SIOR

2004        Steven H. Podolsky, SIOR

2000        Thomas W. Adler, SIOR

1999        Evelyne Andretta, SIOR *

1998        William D. Feldman, SIOR

1997        Donald W. Schaumberger, SIOR

1996        Sidney E. Gable, SIOR

1995        H. Merrill Plaisted, III, SIOR

1993        Peter O. Hanson, SIOR

1992        George O. Bowles Sr., SIOR*     

1990        Donald Hartman, SIOR* 

1987        Robert P. Boblett, SIOR*

1986        Paul J. Pfister, SIOR*

* Deceased